Again, separation in the DAW world

It seems the project is timely:

I hope this inspire you :wink:

p

1 Like

Thatā€™s pretty cool.

I started playing with a bit of batch segmentation in Reaper the other day, but didnā€™t get super far with it. So looking forward to picking your Reaper guru brain on a workflow there. (nearly 400 files with a total of nearly 4k onsets in them, which I want to break into individual files (I did manage importing/segmenting/exporting in Reaper, but couldnā€™t seem to offset all the onset detection slices back around 1ms to make sure nothing gets cut off the beginning (which it was)))

what did you use for segementation? the built-in reaper stuff?

Yeah.
The ā€˜Dynamic Splitā€™ thing. I tweaked the settings a bunch and found a good medium for slicing up the sounds I need. Then using the (super handy!) Batch file/item converter to export the files.

The problem I was running into is that the segmentation was more-or-less spot on, except that it would chop a few samples late in the file. So if I play a segment, I hear a tiny click at the end of the file (which belongs to the next slice).

I was looking for slicer offsets, or a way to select all the slices created and offset them (by something like 1ms, to be ā€œsafeā€) but couldnā€™t find what I needed. And google/youtube just led me to quantize-related functions, as opposed to just a temporal/universal offset.

Everything is better with pictures.

So the settings I was using:

(this is bouncing object sounds, hence the long lockout)

Zoomed in to the first transient:

At one point I thought that it was a left vs right channel thing, but hereā€™s another transient:

you see the ā€˜leading padā€™ at the bottom? that is the ms you want before the detection :wink:

1 Like

I think youā€™ll like the super geeky interface of the amplitude slicer

Definitely helps a lot here.