Auditory Features - Synthesis Parameters Correlation

Hey All Flucoma Users,

I am new to the toolset - despite downloading it ages ago!!!

I am looking at a way to analyse an output of a system I have developed - the new pulsar generator (nuPG: https://www.marcinpietruszewski.com/the-new-pulsar-generator) and match the analysis with synthesis parameters. I am thinking about a timbre-map space sort of thing where a relationship between parameters of synthesis and auditory features can be established. An ultimate goal would be to reverse the process, specify a particular auditory description and get a set of matching synthesis parameters. At the moment I am recording audio and control data simultaneously and was wondering if you may have suggestions on where to go with it from there?

This is an early and exploratory stage, and I would like to hear your suggestions.

best

marcin

3 Likes

Welcome @marcin_pietruszewski

The very short version of this answer is that it’s non-trivial, especially for something whose range of sounds is as broad as your pulsar generator. The current public FluCoMa release will certainly have some helpful stuff, insofar as it has a range of decompositions and descriptors available, but the stuff in the second set of tools we’re currently developing (for building and exploring databases of sounds etc) will provide a fuller framework, once they’re available.

Longer:
The general question of mapping the space of possibilities of a synthesiser or processor is still open (and, IIRC, @rodrigo.constanzo has raised it before on the forum). There’s some papers about it, but not so many. Stefano Fasciani made a tool using an approach called a Extreme Learning Machines (https://ro.uow.edu.au/dubaipapers/752/) and there was also a paper at NIME last year (https://www.nime.org/proceedings/2019/nime2019_paper085.pdf).