Compare live audio input to existing corpus table coordinate

Ello,
I recently followed the youtube tutorial ( Building a 2D Corpus Explorer ) for setting up a 2D table of classified slices in Max MSP.

I was wondering, what kind of approach I would need to take to be able to analyse live audio input in a way that can be compared against all the slices for simillarity. My thinking was that if there is a way to analyse the live audio in a way that would result in where it would land in the 2D table, then there is no need to compare it against every single slice.

However, the way my current 2D corpus is created is by using bufmfcc, bufstats and bufflatten and then reduced to 2 dimensions using umap and normalised. To recreate this pipeline with the live/non buf modules, is not going to work, especially the normalisation stage.

So I’m not sure how to proceed, I have some ideas on how to try this but I am very new to FluCoMa and I thought I should start by asking here first, as there are many modules and approaches which I am not aware of. My end goal would be to have a 2D corpus and to be able to look up points based on their simillarity to live audio input.

Best,
Nik

You could make a pipeline that could do this with the live input. Take a look at using these objects, in this order:

fluid.mfcc~
fluid.stats
fluid.list2buf
fluid.umap~ (same one you used for the plot) with transformpoint message
fluid.normalize~ (same one you used for the plot) with transformpoint message

This should give you the 2D (xy) position that would coordinate to your live input. I have an example of this but it’s not on this computer–I’ll try to remember to follow up and post it here when I get back to that harddrive.

//===================

In case it’s useful this example shows how you might find the nearest slice, not by comparing to every other, but by using a KDTree. Might be worth checking out as well.

Let me know how it goes and if you come across more questions on the way!

Hi Ted,