Computer-assisted corpus exploration presentation

Hi everyone,

As part of the joint conference on AI Music Creativity I’m presenting a short paper and demonstration of software used for computer assisted corpus exploration.

There are many great papers, and @alicee is one of the key notes! I will be presenting briefly on the Thursday 22nd morning session BST time. If anyone is interested in the paper I am happy to send along a copy, and if you can spare the zoom fatigue please do come and watch and ask questions :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Sorry that I missed this! Please send the paper as I’d be interested in taking a look.

2 Likes

Here is the video (excuse the sloppy editing): https://youtu.be/oZOMLMdM_1Q

and the paper: https://boblsturm.github.io/aimusic2020/papers/CSMC__MuMe_2020_paper_6.pdf

3 Likes

Thanks for the paper James! An interesting read.

I’m a descriptor statistics newbie, but I’ve tried implementing something similar to what you’re doing in audioguide (mfcc min/max/mean/std/kurtosis/skew as well as for delta) and get pretty good results with UMAP scaling. Better results that I was getting just using averaged mfcc values.

A question for you/those in the know. In this approach I assume that all descriptor statistics are weighted evenly for dimensional scaling. E.g. that mfcc1-mean is as important as mfcc1-min. However have you played around with the idea of weighting statistics differently to preference certain ones over others? My intuition is that an average mfcc value should be more important than, for instance, the minimum of the first order difference.

1 Like

Thanks for having a read! I’m not great at statistics or even a numbers person really. My approach with narrow curation of statistics is to ‘let the machine figure it out’ which is where dimension reduction comes in. There is always the problem of sausage machining your numbers though which makes the values themselves fairly meaningless, unless its PCA where its standard deviations.