How to use CLI slice indice output?

Hi all, I’m very new to a lot of the concepts here and am interested in interacting with these tools via the command line.

Is there a place the describes how to use the slice indice output of some of the CLI commands?

For instance, I run

fluid-noveltyslice -source a.wav -indices indices.wav -fftsettings 2048 -1 -1 -threshold 0.2 -filtersize 1 -feature 1

on a 30 second file and the resulting indices.wav, when opened in an audio player is a shorter segment of blips. I assume that the output needs to be further handled in other ways to be made useful, but I couldn’t find any examples of doing so.

I found some threads talking a bit about buffers but couldn’t contextualize the info enough to get any traction. Maybe someone has some nice examples of the CLI in action or a link to an explanation of the slice output format?

Hello @philomates and welcome!

The result you get is a wav or a csv file. The numbers in there are the frame numbers where slices were detected.

I’ll make a little example below, but the ultimate example is in @jamesbradbury ReaCoMa project, if you can read LUA.

More very soon.

The simplest example is this:

fluid-noveltyslice -source a.wav -indices indices.csv

If you use that in a Python script for instance, you can then retrieve the values from indices.csv and iterate over them pair-wise to do further process/descriptions.

I hope this helps? The CLI interface is not a full scripting language, literally super efficient tools to get elements. @jamesbradbury again designed the amazing ftis which wraps some of our things with some of other people’s things. He presented that here:

1 Like

Thanks for the props @tremblap , although the CSV reading in ReaCoMa is very terse and imo not hugely helpful if you’re trying to wrap your head around just that aspect :slight_smile: