LetItBee NMF with FluCoMa

Hello! I’ve been working on a project that uses NMF concatenation via the LetItBee Python Script which is based on this paper: AudioLabs - Let it Bee - Towards NMF-inspired Audio Mosaicing

I’m following in the footsteps of Rob Clouth after he gave this enlightening talk at Sonar Barcelona last year… he has built his own MaxforLive patch which does this: https://youtu.be/O7IpRDuvZJQ?t=2430

In the LetItBee script, the source texture is transferred to recreate the target sound. The problem is that it’s slow and a little buggy with large files, so I’ve been looking for other solutions that will produce similar results.

I’m very new to FluCoMa… but it seems like the documentation suggests using the decomposed spectral and amplitude activations to act like a kind of realtime vocoder. I was wondering if there was any apparent way to copy what the LetItBee script is doing. I’d like to decompose a source, and re-compose a seperate target, transferring the timbre of the source to the target. I imagine that this will have to be an offline process, but I’m unsure about where to begin.

Any suggestions to get me started are welcome!

Thanks,
Ben

2 Likes

Hi @encanti and welcome! @groma led us on a paper around this topic for the DaFx conference, last year as it happens. This has yielded an object, fluid.nmfmorph that will be part of the second wave of the toolkit, entering public beta soon.

Meanwhile, however, the companion page for the paper has both python code and compiled Max externals (although these will be of an earlier vintage to what will eventually be released).

1 Like

Thanks for sharing this. I’ve read the paper but didn’t know about Rob Clouth’s talk. The results he gets are immediately useful. I’m going to dig a bit further into this!

1 Like