Offline Decomposing audio file into files containing frequencies of partials

Hi all,

I am new to Flucoma and I am using the Max/MSP package. I was wondering if it is possible to offline decompose audio into a number of wave files that would each contain the frequency of a partial of a sine component of the audio?

there is no direct ways - but there is a roundabout way. If you use fluidbufsines~ and ask for 1 partial only, and do that iteratively on the residual, you will get more and more material that null-sums to the original. Will it be hi-fi? no. to do that hi-fi, I’d use @a.harker 's framelib which has a NRT mode now.

thank you

Can mister @a.harker maybe provide some hints as to have would this be done in Framelib?

I’ve spent the whole day checking out the tutorials and I get the basics of it and I get the NRT mode but I have no idea how to even start decomposing the audio into sines and frequencies.

It’s not fully possible to do a decomposition with phase info in an easy way with the present object set, in that whilst you can get a list of spectral peaks from fl.peaks~, you can’t get any info about phase which for reconstruction that cancels you would need. You also don’t have any data about how partials continue or track between frames at that point. I have an object that does tracking on max messages, but it’s not public (or framelib based - it’s just max messages), so whilst framelib might have more objects to do this kind of thing in future, It doesn’t right now.

You might be able (in theory) to build the full analysis chain from raw framelib objects, but that is quite a low level DSP task, and you’d need to devise a specific analysis model. I’m not even sure the full task is possible and it’s probably not something I’d attempt.