Slice buffer at regular length ? - Supercollider

Hey guys,

I’m studying how to parse a corpus of entire audio files and not chunks of them.

I have a sound database with 5 files of the same duration (5 seconds for each file, 48000 SR).

Following the tutorials, I am able to concatenate all the audio files and convert them into mono as follows:

~loader = FluidLoadFolder("audio_folder");
~loader.play(s, {"done".postln;});
FluidWaveform(~loader.buffer);

~src = Buffer(s);
(
FluidBufCompose.processBlocking(s, ~loader.buffer,startChan:0, numChans:1, destination:~src, destStartChan:0, gain: -6.dbamp);
FluidBufCompose.processBlocking(s, ~loader.buffer,startChan:1, numChans:1, destination:~src, destStartChan:0, gain: -6.dbamp,destGain:1);
)

Next, how could I extract, for example, all 5 audio files from this concatenated list?

I think “FluidBufOnsetSlice” is not interesting as there is onset variation of each audio file. Nor with “FluidBufAmpSlice”.

I tried using “FluidBufSelectEvery” but I couldn’t find a list with the segments. It returns me a list with negative numbers.

I thought about using FluidBufCompose but I didn’t find parameters to configure the size of each slice.

Thank you for all the support,

Best

Hi @ieysimurra and welcome!

If you can tell me more about your overall ambitions, I can give a more detailed answer. But the short version: (almost) all the FluidBuf objects have startFrame and numFrames parameters (in samples). So if you wanted to decompose a 25 second file @ 48kHz into 5 equal chunks you could use FluidBufCompose. Something along the lines of

(
fork{
    // a dummy big buffer
    ~big_one = Buffer.alloc(s,25 * s.sampleRate); 
    //chop it up
    ~small_ones = 5.collect{ |i|
        var b = Buffer.new(s); 
        var offset = i * 5 * s.sampleRate;  
        var n = 5  * s.sampleRate;     
        FluidBufCompose.process(s,~big_one, startFrame:offset,numFrames:n,destination: b).wait; 
        b 
    }; 
    //just to check