Automated pitched/noise segmentation and organisation

Hello. I’m very new to FluComa, but not to Max, where I would be implementing my idea.

I want to be able to take an urban field recording, containing automotive noise, voices, music from shops and cars, and segment it into single-note, pitched samples, as well as well as noise sounds with no tonal centre.

So for example, it would find pitched sounds in a voice, and cut the length so that only a single, stable fundamental pitch was present in each segment - in other words, probably stable syllables, no diphthongs.

Then, it would make a chromatic scale with all the pitched material by starting with the lowest pitched segment and pitching (if necessary) other segments as much as necessary to fit a chromatic scale.

I am thinking of an automated workflow something like this:

1. Segment and separate pitched sections and noise sections of recording.
  2. Find longest possible single-pitch segments amongst the pitched sections.
  3. Categorise segments according to given pitch
  4. Change pitch of segments to fit scale

There would be some decisions to make, for example if there were many segments of the same or very similar pitch, but the idea is essentially that you would end up with a pitched, multi-sampled instrument that could be played chromatically, extracted from an arbitrary field recording.

Is something like this possible in FluComa? Any leads appreciated!

1 Like

Howdie!

Definitely possible, with varying amounts of complication along the way depending on how far you want to push each step.

A good jumping off point might be this series from @brookt:

Not exactly the same thing you’re wanting to do, but does go over a lot of the same beats (segmentation, sorting by various descriptors, etc…).