Relation of and jamming with longer recordings using FluCoMa

Hello, I’m pretty new to the FluCoMa tools and I’m simply overwhelmed with the possibilities of FluCoMa.
I would like to sort longer tonal/beat recordings rhythmically, pitch-wise etc. The result should be displayed in a y/x diagram using dots, for example, but should also be playable. The closer the points are to each other, the more related the corresponding recordings are.
I believe that IRCAM has implemented this quite well in SKataRT as an M4L patch.
Is this also possible in FluCoMa and if so, where should you start when patching?
Thanks in advance for any tips!

Hello and welcome!

Yes indeed the possibilities are huge :slight_smile: So I have a few questions for you to help you go to the next step:

• if SKataRT has implemented what you want quite well, what is your motivation in doing it again? In other words, is there something it doesn’t do you the way you want/need?

• similarity is in the ear of the (contextualised) beholder, so words like ‘longer’ ‘tonal’ ‘beat’ are abstract for a machine. There are machine listening tools to identify a stream of numbers modelling some abstractions of an approximation of a human listening parameter, but how you care about them is what makes it fun and challenging. I pointed to a few of these relative questions elsewhere on the forum but here goes a new list for you, only to one item

• is a 2 bar |CCCC|GGGG| nearer a 1 bar |CCGG|, a 1 bar |CCCC|, a 2 bar |DDDD|GGGG|, a 2 bar |CCGG|CCGG|, etc.

Now I hope you don’t feel taken aback by this. These are very very concrete questions that will help me point at the next step.

So first, let me know your answers to these ideas, and then I can help a bit with the next step.